Skip to content

3166 days of blogging

November 20, 2014

I have been blogging now for 3166 days or 8 years, 7 months, 30 days.

I’ve been thinking about this lately as a few people at a conference came up to me and said “DrOttematic!! I’ve been reading your blog/twitter. You have been doing that for the longest time!!”

One person even said I was “an early adopter.” That sounds cool.

To be honest, I didn’t think many people still read this except maybe for my mom and Stephen Mlawsky (whose app I gave a pretty harsh review! And he remains a very kind supporter, despite that!) [Hi!]

I started blogging as I was trying to learn and share about my first overseas medical elective (To the Himalayas! – a blog I’ve since shut down). Just before residency, I started this blog (Dr Ottematic), to write about my best and worst moments in training and becoming a new GP.

Now, all my energy is devoted to Less is More Medicine, and my broader interest is in transforming the Canadian health care system for the better.

And who knows what next?

I’ve written through mistakes, tragic occasions and hilarious realizations. I’ve tried to make decisions about specialization, where to live & work, and whether to join the military. I’ve considered the role of big pharma and struggled to understand how to view medical marijuana, flu shots, and methadone. Humour, nostalgia, and ethical reflection have been common approaches to coping with the strange life of being a physician.

Writing publicly about being sick, whether the annoying pityriasis rosea, embarrassing Bell’s Palsy, or potentially severely disabling Transverse Myelitis has helped me see things from the other side and value the great health I have.

I wanted to pause on this roller coaster to say “thanks for reading.” I think I’ve grown a lot and though I still am quite ignorant, at least I’ve learned that I can change over time and that there are lots of great people around me who open my eyes to new ideas and ways of thinking.

Thank you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2014 12:58 am

    I really enjoy reading your site Jessica.
    (About ready for another review of my app.
    Also, looking for a good blog site manager ; )
    Hope the TM is getting better for you.
    Take it easy.
    Best
    Steve

    • November 20, 2014 1:08 am

      hah thanks Steve!
      let me just find the time….😉

  2. November 20, 2014 1:03 am

    Add me to your list of readers❤

    • November 20, 2014 1:07 am

      hopefully we’ll be sharing cider in person sometime soon… (April is our tentative plan for the move “home”)

  3. November 20, 2014 9:49 am

    Add Papa as a faithful fan too!

  4. Jenn L permalink
    November 20, 2014 3:46 pm

    I”m still here! RSS FTW!

Leave a Reply

