Skip to content

What do doctors do after residency? Then what?

June 15, 2011

I haven’t had much time to write. Well, I’ve written a lot, but it’s been research projects, applications for licensure in remote territories, thank you letters, and the like. But not blog entries.

I cruised the search terms that point people to this blog and found these two gems:

“after residency then what?”

and

“what to doctors do after residency?”

The answer is: Work like dogs. Work like dogs throughout the health science field to pay off the student loan. To feel validated. Some like me will go to remote towns few have heard of just to have an adventure, push ourselves way out of the comfort zone, and earn some cash to keep the bank from nipping at our heels.

And we might have to be the flight paramedic, the telehealth advice giver, the sexual-assault counsellor, and even put down the sled dogs. Yep that’s all part of my first gig in July, or so I’ve been told. That’s the beauty of working in the armpit of Canada. Or maybe it’s the part behind the ear. I’m not sure yet.

Smarter residents will plan a trip to Thailand (eh PP!?) to cool their heels and right their brain.

But I’m not that smart. I can hammock when I’m dead. The debt has gotta go.

You can do whatever you want once you finish residency, provided you colour within the lines.

With the right papers squared away, and especially if you are a (versatile) Family Physician, the world is your oyster.

It actually makes it hard to choose. I will write more about my ‘plans’ which are hodge-podge at best. I’ve mixed enough idioms and metaphors for tonight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 10:53 pm

    Jess, I love this post! 🙂

    • July 2, 2011 11:29 am

      thanks Sandy. Clearly I had too many just the right amount of fruit loops before writing that.

  2. July 11, 2011 11:40 am

    You are so hilarious!!!

    • July 11, 2011 1:25 pm

      hilarious, or hysterical (aka delirious)!?

Leave a Reply

