Skip to content

I have Bell’s Palsy, Part 7: Recovery is slow but happenin’

January 3, 2011

This vlogging (video blogging) thing is harder than I had ever thought. It seemed as easy as recording a video with a webcam but all sorts of wonkiness happens in the process. I’m sure more experienced vlogging docs have a seamless process but this has been mine:

bad lighting and terrible webcam gives 3GB file–> compression (Magic Video Converter)  –> fix sound (Yet Another AVI Info) –> upload –> fix aspect ratio (youtube); then I realized it had an extra garbled bit at the end, so I had to crop its length (Windows Movie Maker) –> convert from WMV to AVI (Magic Video Converter) –> re-upload and fix aspect ratio (youtube). Then, realize the volume has been diminished by the compression process; fix the volume (virtual dub) –>upload and can’t seem to fix aspect ratio –> sigh.

This equates to a terrible quality video, desire for a less archaic computer that can do these rendering tasks in less than hours, better webcam, and some kind of catch-all video-editing software. That, or a plan to make no more videos.  Can’t beleive I spent this much time on what was is really not a very exciting or important thing to begin with. Technology doesn’t make my life easier very often.

That said, I DO want to show you that I’ve had some recovery, so here’s the video.

Oh and P.S. I misspoke. It would have to be a very large Acoustic Neuroma to invade the facial canal but a “Facial Neuroma” is probably a more accurate term for the type of tumour being ruled out (and which is extremely improbable) in my case.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 10:27 pm

    Glad to hear your recovery is continuing 🙂

  2. January 4, 2011 4:05 am

    One of my patients and coworkers did turn out to have acoustic neuroma that I diagnosed.
    Her presenting symptoms were dizziness, but no facial palsy until after her surgery to remove it.
    You, on the other hand, or should I say face, are looking great Jessica!
    (Just be careful to stay clear of the hockey pucks)… ; 0
    Hope your New Year is wonderful.
    Really like your presentations at this site.
    Wishing you a speedy recovery.
    I’m sure things will come out OK for you from what I see here.
    Very best regards,
    Steve

  3. January 13, 2011 10:28 pm

    I hope you are continuing to feel better…you were looking great in this latest vlog 🙂

  4. January 19, 2011 10:17 am

    How are things going now Jessica?
    Hope all is well!
    Steve

    • January 23, 2011 6:16 pm

      Great thanks! Not 100% but hardly notice until others ask or comment. Wouldn’t be horribly unhappy if it stays like this – a but of lopsidedness is not the worst outcome!

  5. January 23, 2011 6:19 pm

    Great to hear Jessica!
    Steve

  6. February 8, 2011 2:20 pm

    Just wanted to send you some good wishes for your MRI today!

    • February 8, 2011 8:12 pm

      Awe shucks, that is very sweet. I had it on Feb 2nd and it went well. I suppose I’ll do a post about it but it’s no secret: no tumour! That was the expected outcome. Now I can totally fuggeddaboutit.

  7. Noma permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:07 am

    Hey, hope your a whole lot better now,i”ve got bells palsy tooooo, still clearing so your not alone hang in there, i totally understand what it feels like……
    all the best in yopur recovery

    from: you”re not alone!!!!

    • October 5, 2011 3:02 pm

      Thanks for your message! Fortunately I am 99% healed. It took only 1 month to recover, I think in large part due totalin prednisone right away. Have a little residual synkinesis (eye twitches when I smile) but it is not noticeable and only feels odd.

      Best of luck with your recovery. I had the best possible outcome and most people do get great recovery. Take care!!

Trackbacks

  1. I have Bell’s Palsy, Part 7: Recovery is slow but happenin’ « health care commentaries from around the world

Leave a Reply

