Skip to content

I have Bell’s Palsy: Part 2, How Glamorous is it?

December 12, 2010

It doesn’t look like much, since you can’t tell how hard I’m trying to do the action described, but here’s my mug:

Scrunch up your forehead!

Close your eyes!

Smile!

Sexy, no? Between the dry eye that I can’t close (and need to use my hand to push the eyelid down to blink), the slurred lisping speech, and my grimace…

I survived a Christmas party with fellow residents tonight. I perserverated a bit on my intermittently disfigured face – it’s kind of embarrassing but we came up with some good jokes.We came to the conclusion that I need an eye-patch to wear to work. Given my profession, the most appropriate would be one like Elle Driver (California Mountain Snake) in Kill Bill. Yah, I’m certainly no Daryl Hannah, and I definitely can’t whistle since I can’t purse my lips… but ? Could be a good laugh at work.

At the party, I couldn’t eat all the goodies but theoretically prednisone will make me eat like a Rancor just in time for the holiday butter-laden scrumptiousness. I also thought using a straw would be a good idea, but it turns out I can’t actually use it. So I just kind of slowly drink out of the side of my mouth. And try not to spill all over myself – a phenomenom practised with my ill-chosen lunch of soup, today.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 5:51 pm

    You’re only a lab accident away from going batman villain. Have you planned out which city you shall terrorise yet?

    Hope your tests come back well and you recover fast Jess.

    • December 13, 2010 11:35 pm

      oh dude, I wish. Doctor Scowl would probably terrorize the whole of Vancouver Island

  2. armando permalink
    February 13, 2012 9:21 pm

    Am i the only on in the world that thinks the droopy lip is sexy?

Leave a Reply

