Skip to content

At the end of the day

October 20, 2010

When I worked at a kids science camp, at the end of each day we’d have time for ‘warm fuzzies’ and ‘cool pricklies.’ Our group could decompress by sharing the best and worst parts of our days. This has been a tough month, so I’m going to try this today and maybe life will feel a little decompressed.

Today:
+ a lovely lady made me dinner and did my laundry
+ some good listeners let me air my angst
+ lunch was a really good egg-salad/veggie wrap
+ I learned that my program will pay for my whole ATLS course fee, not just part as I originally thought
+ got my flu shot in less than 2 minutes
+ my car continues to start reliably after the magic mechanic did his ‘bidness a few weeks ago

– an email entitled “Demise of the X Y Clinic” arrived in my mailbox; I don’t know what I’ll do for my 12 weeks of Family Practice block
– a palliative patient, whose wish was to die at home, died in front of me on an ER stretcher despite my best efforts to get them home pronto-like
– didn’t find my groove at work
– a meeting, after 2 hours, just wasn’t my priority
– I lost my name tag. It has my name on it. Too bad no one knows who I am.
– my bank account overdrew by $4 because I made a loan payment the day before my loan interest payment was automatically withdrawn from the same account

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bix Meister permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:27 am

    The upside of down

    “Emerging scientific research suggests coping with adverse life events improves our ability to adapt and handle future events,” Psychcentral.com reports. “… The new national multi-year longitudinal study of the effects of adverse life events on mental health discovered that the experiences appear to foster adaptability and resilience. As such, an individual is able to handle future mental-health issues and possess a strong sense of well-being.” The study will be published in the forthcoming issue of the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology.

    • October 20, 2010 9:21 pm

      . . . but [stress] will shorten your life!

    • October 20, 2010 9:30 pm

      trust me, I’m a doctor.

  2. October 21, 2010 11:48 am

    LOL…stress does seem to do some crazy things to the body. I like your classification system of “warm fuzzies and cold pricklies”, perhaps I can incorporate this into my daily routine.

    On the plus side, the palliative patient who died at least had a caring physician by their side who was trying to honour their wishes.

    As for your clinic closing – that’s lousy. We need all the XY Clinics we can get. Here’s hoping that another door opens for you.

    BTW…can you send someone over to make me dinner and do my laundry? My thesis has taken over my house and life!

    • October 21, 2010 10:02 pm

      Thanks – that thought activity works well alone or in a group, if you don’t mind the sharing part. Don’t know if you have office-mates but I’m sure doctoral peeps have high-highs and low-lows just like MDs.

      I’ll ask Lois if she does house calls to other parts of the country. She even folded my underwear and bought me some bubble bath cuz I guess I look a bit stressed, hah!

      Well the clinic may not be closing, just exploding a bit; since I’m still training, it’s just a learning environment for me but unfortunately the administrative collapse has meant that it is hard to focus on learning while there. Things are changing, probably for the better.

Leave a Reply

