Skip to content

tardy, delinquent, I know, I know – but I have excuses!

May 20, 2010

Trichotillomania (pathological hair pulling!)

I have been absent from blogging for a woefully long time and will not be writing much for a few weeks probably. Reasons:

1. moved apartments on short notice; brand new apartment, lovely and modern but a few niggling concerns

2. general surgery rotation: 6 weeks of awesomeness but also kind of exhausting; if I had ever found a non-angry female surgeon role model, I might have ponied-up for this specialty

3. norwalk outbreak – yeah, I got it, just in time for the weekend! our hospital was closed to visitors and it was pretty awesome actually. Few people showing up to the ER, few patients missing from their beds on rounds, etc. Well worth the few days of blarrrrrrrgggggggg and 8lb fluid lost.

4. migraines. have had this one on and off for the last week. bah! despite every medication I could think of, it kept coming back.

5. going to Vancouver this weekend to watch high-brow comedy by the cross-dressing Eddie Izzard ; he’s an expert at historical humour and the expertly timed call-back. This is exciting but also requires more planning than I had anticipated. Ferries, friends, etc.

6. got VACATION coming up soon; still in the scramble-planning stage. San Francisco seat sale = yes probably! Should be a great thing, but also stressed about not having a travel buddy. Friends have no time off and/or no money. Hmmm. But there are a few people who will briefly be in SF when I am intending to be there. So!

7. MAIN one: my motherboard died on my 2 year old Dell laptop. Why do I have a Dell? I don’t know. It seemed like a good idea at the time. It has been a headache (literally – see above) to get it fixed. As friendly as they are on the phone (“ma’am, I apologize for that”) they are kind of shit at getting things done. Add to that the runaround with purolator

A) call Dell, get dispatch number, get promise of empty box, they will fix it under warranty! yay, extended warranty!
B) 3 business days (5 days  total) box has not arrived
C) call Dell, get tracking number
D) call Purolator – never heard of that tracking number
E) call Dell, oops, wrong tracking number! get correct one
F) call Purolator: delivery has to be ‘arranged’ Hmmm. Figure it out: my new apartment’s front door buzzer doesn’t work – and it is against Purolator’s policy to leave a note stating they had attempted delivery
G) Go to address Purolator gave me, hmmm “FOR LEASE.” That’s not good. Car honks at me as a slow down and squint as I drive by. Read new address on their little sign, drive to new place, very helpful counter staff. Just made it in the nick of time before they closed at 6pm.
H) Ship off package! Glad I brought my AC adapter. Apparently they need that bit.
I) Waiting…. waiting… I’m told it will take them 7-10 business days to fix. Then there’s the shipping back to me, and the whole dance around them not being able to buzz my suite, and not leaving a note that they’ve tried to deliver, etc.

My previous PC (tower) lasted 7 years, but I did put in new RAM, motherboard, processer, harddrive, PSU, etc. over the years. Basically, the case was the only original feature!

Time to get a Mac?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. rach permalink
    May 21, 2010 1:00 pm

    :::chanting::: Get a mac! Get a mac! :::

  2. May 25, 2010 9:51 pm

    On migranes, it doesn’t really count as a medicine, and it doesn’t involve taking anything, but have you tried cutting out caffiene? I’ve heard that cutting it out from your diet can help eliminate migranes.

    • May 25, 2010 10:47 pm

      For many people that is a great tip! I wish it applied to me! I hardly ever have caffeine; sometimes it helps with my headaches and migraines when they do occur.

  3. Rob permalink
    May 29, 2010 7:58 pm

    Jessica, do not walk…run to the Mac store. I made the switch 2 yrs. ago and my e-life has been SO much simpler and better!

  4. July 4, 2010 2:32 am

    mersyndol works great for my migraines. Don’t even need an RX , not that that is ever a problem in a hospital. 🙂

    • July 4, 2010 1:22 pm

      I never prescribe narcotics for headaches because of the commonness of rebound headache but they do work for some people. A few of the triptans have worked for me, fortunately.

  5. July 4, 2010 2:40 am

    oh….could you please try these 2 remedies I read about ( I question both, but if you have a migraine, you try anything!):
    1. Lidocaine squirted into the nostrils and let it drain upward (in other words, stand on your head I guess)
    2. Get a slurpee and get a brain freeze while having a migraine.

    If they work, get back to me! 🙂

    • July 4, 2010 1:12 pm

      i have tried the brain freeze – doesn’t work though! just causes another kind of pain 🙂

Leave a Reply

