Skip to content

More sad news: Dr. Emily Ellingsen dies at age 31

April 12, 2010

I remember that face. I remember the McMaster girl, struggling with her progressive blindness, wondering what kind of doctor she would be. It was on the teevee. Back when I was a wee pup, before medical school. The show was Med Students. Not many knew this little Life Network gem but I remember.

If a blind gal could do it…

Fast forward 6 years later. I didn’t know that same girl contracted cervical cancer. Actually I did know, as a fellow resident had told me a sad story about a colleague in Victoria, but I just didn’t know it was Emily. I didn’t know she’d been keeping an online journal about her journey or that she had met her match in husband Aaron.

Now I know. Tragedy. Dealt two tough blows, and smiling the whole way. On February 19, she died. Even her obituary can’t help but paint a picture of a dedicated and persevering young lady.

Emily: I didn’t know you. I heard part of your story back in 2004 and thought of it often. I didn’t know we were on the same island until just now, but if I could have told you something, it would be that people like you humble people like me. Your grace will stay in our thoughts.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 1:31 am

    I am so sad to read this.

  2. April 14, 2010 2:16 pm

    Stories like this always cause me to pause and reflect on life and how we never know how long we have it to enjoy. She sounds like a remarkable woman.

  3. Sandy permalink
    July 4, 2010 2:53 am

    Just sitting here “post call” feeling sorry for myself and decided to surf… Thank you for this. Emily was truly a gem to all that knew her or knew of her.

  4. Kasey permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:03 pm

    I am so saddened by this. Like you I watched that show over and over and it was Emily as well as others that inspired me to leave my Corporate job and go after my true dream of medicine, albeit veterinary medicine. Periodically I look on the internet to see where their lives had taken them and it was this search that led me to your site and this terrible news.

    There was also one other MedStudent, Alyson Brodeur, that passed away in October 2009.

    Such vibrant, young, incredible individuals that had their whole lives ahead of them. I’m so sad to read this and hope that she has found some peace.

    • July 19, 2010 9:09 pm

      Thanks for sharing. Odd how that little TV show meant so much.

Leave a Reply

