Skip to content

Subscribers, subscribe!

February 14, 2010

To my existing subscribers, thank you! I don’t know who you are but I’m so privileged that you read the bizarre things I write and stick with me when I can’t find the time to (like this past week). I’d love to know more about those of you who read this, and more about which direction I should take it in. Who are you!?

To those who read this blog but haven’t subscribed – thanks also! I used think I was a tech whiz kid, coding html webpages back in 1994, but these days I just don’t have the time to sit down and figure out how things work. I wish I had the time to design the blog rather than use a pre-fab template and host, because it looks a bit cluttered to me and I think it could be made to be more usable. I’d like it to be easier on your kind eyes. Maybe one day, when I have a real job, I can get the help of a proper coder to make this thing more appealing and functional.

RSS logo

In the meantime, what is this “Web 2.0” business? What are RSS feeds? How the heck do I go about subscribing? Well! I can’t say I fully understand it, but we can get you subscribing to and reading blogs in no time! It’s a lot easier than having to remember to visit a bunch of sites regularly and saves time because you can quickly skim the latest titles and skip over the boring stuff, like this post! Har har.

If you, like me, know little about  “RSS feed” this and that, “web 2.0” whatchamacalit, you might like a quick overview. Problogger has a great explanation, in What is RSS? It gives some great insight; I learned that if a site is an RSS feed, the little orange RSS logo will appear in rightmost part of the address bar if you are browsing with Firefox. Dandy!

So, here’s how to subscribe, simply!

1. get a blog reader, aka “feed aggregator
If you are into the G empire (I know I am!), check out Google Reader. If you want to try something else, Bloglines is pretty handy for reading news, blogs, flickr images, and a few other things.

2. subscribe to this (or other) blogs

Once you are using a blog ‘reader,’ simply click the little orange button to the right of this post, where it says “Subscribe with one click.” You blog reader will do the rest, usually. Alternatively, you can simply cut and paste the address of this website (https://drottematic.wordpress.com) into the “Add Subscription” area of your blog reader. That’s it!

Totally stuck? No worries! I have just figured out how to offer blog updates direct to your e-mail inbox! Just click the “E-MAIL SUBSCRIPTION” ‘Sign me up!’  button on the right column. Yah, it’s somewhere near the top over there —->

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:38 pm

    I actually love the layout of your blog – very uncluttered, easy to read… So many that could take a lesson from you. Me included – I have no CLUE when it comes to coding/layout design/programming.

    The reason I don’t RSS is because a) sometimes I pick and choose what I read and b) I’d be sitting at my computer all day waiting for updates!

    You skiin’ in that 4.5 metres of snow in your backyard??? I hope so. Over here there ain’t no snow to be seen.

    • February 17, 2010 1:39 am

      thanks Rach! I think yours is quite clean and simple. I like that you use photos sparingly, that helps make it easier to follow.

      I need the RSS thing otherwise I wouldn’t keep up to date with half the stuff out there. As it is, i am swamped but I’m trying to pick and choose more carefully.

      I did ski in it, on the weekend. It was incredible! My legs still hurt 🙂

  2. February 17, 2010 7:32 am

    Ah yes, blog death by photos. I think the ICD-10 is revising to include this!

  3. April 8, 2010 10:01 pm

    Thanks for this awesome post- I just linked to it, because it’s so clearly written and I didn’t want to have to explain it all in a post that was about my Babies are Cute paintings. 😀 Thanks!

    • April 13, 2010 1:25 am

      yeah RSS can be confooooosing but if you just ignore what it’s all about, then click a few buttons, it’s possible to make use of it with zero understanding 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Raise an Eyebrow: Who are these Hybrids? Pt.1 | Katanaville

Leave a Reply

