Skip to content

Did Narcissus have a rocket ship? CAIR Resident Spotlight

January 26, 2010

So… someone told someone told someone about my blog. After that, the Canadian Association of Internes and Residents (CAIR) decided to put me in its Resident Spotlight. For those of you who don’t know, CAIR represents about 7,500 Resident Physicians in the country. Actually, all of them, excluding those in Quebec.

They do lobbying and advocacy on a federal level, all in effort to support resident wellness which equates with good patient care. They also provide guidance and facilitate communication between the different provincial organizations, such as mine (ours, for those BC residents reading this!), PAR-BC.

On to the vanity part, because frankly I need to hurry up with this post so I can go admire my navel. CAIR did a short interview in which I might have accidentally revealed my not-so-secret-backburner-never-gonna-happen-but-wish-it-magically-would ambition to head into outer-space. It’s mainly the kind of questions you’d expect at a residency matching interview – only this time I didn’t have to fit the box.

Here’s an excerpt:

Why did you choose your specialty?

It was down to the wire with CaRMS, and I knew that I wanted my life to be full of variety. The only specialty that could allow me to constantly grow and change, and even alter my career path drastically as I saw fit, was Family Practice. Needing to connect with patients is a fundamental part of the job, and the appeal of that privilege was undeniable.

Read the brief interview here, CAIR Resident Spotlight, and find out my favourite on call food, because I’m sure you are just aching to know! I really hope there aren’t as many stalkers in real life as there are on TV*.

* I’ve been watching a lot of Criminal Minds lately. I’m not actually worried. But I do really like popcorn.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 12:13 pm

    That’s a great interview! Where the heck do you find your favorite food in a vending machine???

    • January 26, 2010 2:15 pm

      Well that’s usually at 2am. Our cafeteria keeps terrible hours anyway, so it’s hard to scrounge decent food at any time of the day really. My fave overall food is more like fresh veg from the garden but that’s not really an ‘on call’ thing.

    • January 26, 2010 11:24 pm

      oops, and “thanks” also!

  2. January 26, 2010 8:11 pm

    Love the interview! 😀

    (and I’m with you on Kernels popcorn. So tasty!)

    • January 26, 2010 11:25 pm

      Thanks Jenn. Mmmm I love their stuff. Even the local mall has a Kernels outlet – I always stop there before heading into the movie theatre 😀

Leave a Reply

