Skip to content

Struggling a little with self-care

January 11, 2010

Oh Boy! I haven’t written any decent posts recently, and I’m not sure how it’s looking for the near future.

Despite all the curriculum meetings and workshops I’ve attended regarding initiatives in resident wellness, I find it a struggle sometimes. I left work slightly early (5:30PM, all of my work was complete) and went to the grocery store. Sure enough, my pager went off in the car while I was stocking up on veggies. So, I called back, informed them I wasn’t “on call” and, silly me, dealt with the reason for the call. Kind of.

I had left early because I have a hockey game tonight that’s a little earlier than it usually is. I also wanted to eat right. I ate so poorly during my Obstetrics rotation out of convenience and self-pity (woe is me!) that it’s time to shape up again. I find cooking enjoyable and when I cook, it looks good, tastes good, and is at least marginally healthy.

Things feel like a juggling act even though my hours are reasonable and my first call of the month isn’t until Wednesday. I can’t go to rounds tomorrow because they overlap with my Family Practice clinic day, which I booked a month ago, before I had heard that Palliative Rounds are on Tuesdays; last week I made the rounds, but I missed out on seeing some pre-natal patients that are specifically booked on Tuesday mornings to see me. Not ideal.

My Saturday was spent in Vancouver speaking at the CaRMS (Canadian Residency Matching Service) Open House at UBC. We were sharing the nitty gritty on the Nanaimo program; I found myself beaming and thinking “wow, we are pretty lucky!” And we certainly are – this program is the most flexible on the planet, I’m sure. But silly me, I didn’t use the rest of my Saturday productively. Somehow, I also volunteered myself for the first Journal Club (happening in 2-3 weeks), have a giant (though interesting) book to review for this blog, and am *slightly* overdue for an oil change on my car. And so on.

No toodledo list can save me.

p.s. why doesn’t the iPhone have a built in task list? why doesn’t their calender show items that are scheduled as “all day” ?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 10:00 pm

    Ahh, I remember those days! I think residency is more humane now than 25 years ago…thank goodness.

    Best of luck and keep up the blogging!

    Hello from Ottawa.

    • January 24, 2010 12:52 pm

      Things are much better, I’m sure – but sometimes it still gets stupid; we have a good contract but need to make sure it is followed!

      I hope you have time for Winterlude – I love Ottawa at that time of year!

Leave a Reply

