Skip to content

Letter to the editor, modified, published!

October 10, 2009

I trimmed down and emotionalized my previous Letter to the Editor about the lack of extended care facilities for the elderly on Vancouver Island. I added some new information: one of the hospital social workers learned at the hospital-wide bed meeting that 80 of our beds were occupied by these medically-stable folks awaiting placement*. 80! That’s a huge issue, and the reasons are obvious. So I thought I’d share it in a letter.

Fortunately, it’ll get some air as the Times Colonist did publish it. You can read that version here.

Just a quick note on Letters to the Editor. Even if you write to the smallest, piddliest, lowest-circulation paper, anything that mentions a Minister or Premier tends to wind up on their desk. Easiest way to get to the top! (according to Dr. Schumacher, former CMA president). Even if that’s not true, at least someone will read it! I hope.

* yes, I used second hand information. I think the source is good, but I’m a journalist. My goal was to get the issue some attention, and I think this might be a fair start.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon-Pierre permalink
    October 12, 2009 8:00 pm

    Nicely done ! One more thing done to get moving on this (political) issue.

  2. November 6, 2009 11:37 am

    That was a well written letter. Did you get any response over your letter?

Leave a Reply

