Skip to content

My Classmates in the BCMJ/Vancouver Sun

February 17, 2009
Nimrod and Peter

Nimrod and Peter

Check out what my classmates, Peter Nicholson and Nimrod Levy had to say about medical school debt, in their BCMJ article. Looking at an aggregate news source today, I discovered that today’s Vancouver Sun features the pair. Congrats guys, and amen!

I was sitting next to Peter in class today and yesterday, but had no idea he and Nimrod had written such an essential and timely article. Clearly, a lot of students in my class hold the same sentiments, which led me to writing my post “Medical School = Debt That’ll Kill Me” just last week. While I agree with much of what my colleagues have said, I’m not sure that a mandatory rural/under-serviced work term would be appropriate. It has been tried in India with various outcomes, according to the pharmacists and physicians I encountered there. While some are happy to work in remote areas, others abandon their posts.

My opinion is that opt-in debt forgiveness for a service contract would work better for young Canadian physicians, but that’s just because I don’t always like being told what to do!

Next week, our school’s financial officer is giving a talk on Loan Repayment, so I’ll probably have some more thoughts on this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 5:41 am

    Nice post! Keep it real.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

Leave a Reply

